Enabling Unit

About the Society: The Enabling Unit (EU) of the Hansraj College caters to the needs of the differently abled and constitutes of members who belong to the PwD Category.

This year of pandemic brought several challenges for the differently abled students. They had to learn new ways to interact and connect with their teachers. Initially, the online technology was quite challenging to the disabled students especially to visually impaired students. But with their perseverance and hard work, the same empowers them today even in these times.

This year (2020-21) also 15 visually impaired students are awarded the prestigious HTBF scholarship and many have won prizes in various inter- and intra-college competitions.

Coordinator's name: Dr Shivani Agarwal

As a coordinator of EU, Dr Shivani Agarwal assisted in the special category admissions and coordinated for arranging scribes and students for text recording for the visually impaired students. She also handled the needs of differently abled students during online examination while communicating with the superintendent, tied up with the *Help The Blind Foundation* to provide the visually impaired (VI) bonafide students' list and help them get their scholarships. This year, a remarkable number of 23 students were benefited by the HTBF scholarship which shows the hardwork and dedication of the EU coordinator. It is worthwhile to mention the formation of a Whatsapp group (HRC Scribe Squad) by Dr Shivani Agarwal, wherein the scribes and examinees from all across the University of Delhi colleges come together in a symbiotic manner to support each other.

Co-conveners and members (from the faculty), if any : None

Position	Student Details
President	Mr Ramakant Prabhakar, B.A. (Prog.) II
Vice President	Mr Vishwabandhu, B.A. (H) History III
Secretary	Abhishek Kumar Chaurasiya, B.A. (H) History II
Joint Secretary	Santosh Bisen, B.A. (H) Hindi II
Treasurer	Rajesh Ojha, B.A. (H) Hindi II
Scribe Head	Sohan Singh B.A. (H) Hindi II
Editorial Head	Nikhileshwar Gugnani B.A. (H) Economics II

Student members (wih positions held):

Report of EVERY EVENT/workshop/seminar organized/participated in the Academic Year 20-21

Event: Intercollege Debate Competition

Date : 31st March 2021

The Enabling Unit consists of a team of bright, zealous and differently abled students. During the academic session 2020-21, EU conducted an Intercollege debate competition on the topic, *In the era of inclusive education, the concept of special education institutions is unjustified.* The debate was held on 31st March 2021 and observed a remarkable participation. Students from different colleges participated in it and expressed their views. The session was held on the online platform.

The unit under the coordinatorship of Dr Shivani Agarwal. Dr Rajesh Kumar Sharma and Dr Sushma Rani were amongst the panel of judges. Dr Baljeet Kaur helped in organizing the event and Mr Arun Kumar proposed the vote of thanks.

Event: Orientation Day

The EU organized its orientation in January 2021 during which there was a discussion on how the technology works for the betterment of the differently abled students. The Keynote speaker of the event was Sh. S.G.S. Sisodia, an Eminent Social worker and literary contributor.

The orientation session was convened by Dr Shivani Agarwal, moderated by Dr Rajesh Kumar Sharma and Dr Sushma Rani and Mr Arun Kumar helped in organizing the event and Dr Baljeet Kaur proposed the vote of thanks.

Event : Formation of Students Council

The Enabling Unit student council was formed in December 2020, in which Dr Rajesh Kumar Sharma supported the coordinator Dr Shivani Agarwal.

Event: Webinar

This year, the differently abled students overcame new challenges which arose during the Covid 19 pandemic times. The EU organized a webinar on 27th July 2020 in collaboration with Equal Opportunity Cell, on the topic *"Challenges"*

Faced By Differently Abled During Covid Era". The main speaker of this event was Prof. Kusum Lata Malik, President National Federation of the Blind. Prof. Malik motivated the attendees by her precious words of wisdom.

The programme was convened by Dr Shivani Agarwal, moderated by Dr Rajesh Kumar Sharma while Dr Baljeet Kaur and Dr Sushma Rani provided the concluding remarks, followed by vote of thanks by Mr Arun Kumar.

Photographs

